Devil’s Food Cake with Orange Segments

Cake1

 

Distances never separates two hearts that really care … it only makes the heart grow fonder

       I truly felt that in the past 7 weeks that my husband was away for work. A fate would have it (and partly my mistake too) I couldn’t travel with my husband. Naturally I was gutted that missed out this opportunity to travel with him …to travel to one of my favorite countries in the world …..Australia!

My degree of the separation between myself and MC Australia would have been slashed by 100% ….but it didn’t happen! Yes! confession – I was more excited about visiting MS Aus Studios in Melbourne and not for the cricket world cup… there I said it.

Thank god for technology – the distance didn’t feel much. 7 Weeks went by and he returned a couple of days ago.

Cake2_New

For his homecoming, I wanted to do something special. Of course, cooking for him is one the greatest joys ❤

Our love for chocolate has been talked about enough here. Dark chocolate is our favorite type of chocolate and we love flavour blends with dark chocolate. Orange with chocolate is something that turns us on. He loves a good classic chocolate cake…and he would always talk about a certain 2 tier chocolate cake I baked long long time ago (before my blogging days).

So I decided that I would surprise him with the darkest chocolate cake…which will have some hint of orange somewhere in it.

IMG_4081S_S

I make chocolate cakes, pies, muffins and cup cake often ….but I wanted something different. My quest to see if people make chocolate cakes differently  lead me to an awesome recipe that read ” Perfect chocolate cake “.

Now that is quite a claim to make – perfect? I thought the only way to find out was to try the recipe. I decided to follow it and make this “perfect” chocolate cake.

The amazing thing was I didn’t have to wait for the cake to come out of the oven to know if it were really the ‘ perfect’ chocolate cake…. I could feel it as I was getting the batter ready. The taste of the batter , the look/ colour of the colour was hinting towards perfection.

The sponge was perfectly airy, soft and moist. The colour of the cocoa with coffee and buttermilk lends to the perfectly dark, rich , decadent chocolate cake. The dark chocolate ganache (without sugar is how we like it) was just what was needed to bind the tiers together and keep the cake moist. Fresh orange segments at the the top added to the gorgeousness and complemented the dark chocolate perfectly!

So, indeed this is the “perfect chocolate cake” ! It is also called the Devil’s Food Cake … for how sinfully dark and irresistible it is… Try not giving into your temptations …I dare you! ❤

Cake 3

Recipe : Devil’s Food Cake with Orange Segments

Chocolate cake recipe inspired by the Blog – Iambaker ( link – http://iambaker.net/the-perfect-chocolate-cake/)

Ingredients for the cake-

  • 1 3/4  cups maida / all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup brown sugar (please add more if you like it more sweet) / you can also use castor sugar
  • 3/4 cup dark cocoa powder
  • 2 large ( 3 small-med sized eggs)
  • 1 cup of hot instant coffee (I did 1 cup of hot water + 2 to 3 tsp of coffee powder)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil/ Olive oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence

Ingredients for the ganache-

  • 200 ml fresh cream
  • 200 grams dark chocolate melted ( you c
  • 1/2 tsp butter (optional)
  • Orange segments (optional)

Directions—

  1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees for about 10-12 mins , and keep two 8 or 9 inches mold greased and ready. ( You can also bake it in batches if you happen to have only one)
  2. Start with all thing dry – Sift in the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into the bowl and mix until combined.
  3. To the dry mix – add the eggs, buttermilk, oil and the vanilla.
  4. Finally add the hot coffee to the batter.
  5. Pour the batter into the greased molds, bake for about 35 to 40 minutes at 180 degrees – check for doneness. (put a toothpick to see if it comes out clean- that is your doneness test)
  6. When ready take the cake out – let them cook for an hour before you start assembling it.
  7. To maketheganache:
    1. Melt the chocolate in microwave ( or double boiler on the stove top)
    2. To that melted chocolate add a little butter ( this is mainly for the shine/ gloss on the ganache frosting)
    3. Heat the fresh cream and pour it over the melted chocolate
    4. Whisk them well and let it sit for a few minutes till it sets just right for you to start spreading in on the cake.
  8. Based on how comfortable you are with your cake decor art ( I am absolutely not) – spread some chocolate ganache on the bottom layer – place the second layer on top and spread the rest of the ganache on top and on the sides.
  9. Feel free to be as creative as you want with your cake decor… I like it to be basic, simple and rustic. I just smeared it ( the photos are evidence of that)
  10. Added some fresh orange segments & zest on top
  11. Leave it in the fridge for 30 odds mins for it to set well. It will cut and the slices will look great. However, go right ahead if you cannot resist the temptations ❤
25 thoughts on “Devil’s Food Cake with Orange Segments

  1. Amazing ambica…will try it soon as tell u the result. The filling inside the cake is ganache or cream? How did u manage to make that filling so thick?

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Sargam. I used dark chocolate ganache in the center / between the layers. I smeared generously – hence the thick layer. I assembled the cake and let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours before I clicked and cut it 🙂 Thank you thinking of trying it out. please do share your results and pics if you can. ENjoy!

      Like

      1. Thanks Ambica…baking it tomorrow for my hubby’s bday. Please tell me what is buttermilk in your case…is it milk + vinegar or milk + curd? Also tell me the ratio used. Thanks again

        Like

      2. Hi Sargam! Glad to know you are baking it tomorrow. Buttermilk is just curd diluted with water. No vinegar. I use 1:1 ratio typically. However you may limit the amount of water based on the original consistency of the curd you are using. That should work Hon! If you can , pls do share the photo of the cake you bake. ❤ (P.S – Happy Birthday to your husband! )

        Like

  2. Hi ambika!!! Saw the blog today morning! Very nice!! Ate the cake the other day and saw the recipe today!! Both are great!!! Very tempting to try!!! Will talk to you and then try!!! Keep going great guns!!! God bless!!!

    Like

  3. Thanks for wishes dearie…yeah I baked it and completed it an hour before…resting in refrigerator now. Though icing not that gud.
    Dont know how to attach the pic here..plz let me know I will do for sure. Or let me sent it to u in ur facebook inbox. Plz check it there.

    Like

      1. No no nothing went wrong with the icing…just that I am not gud at decorating. The cake was out of the world. I added melted chocolate in the cake too. Everyone asked me which bakery is the cake from? 😊
        Hubby said its sinfully delicious.
        The party was great too.
        p.s. Messaged u the pic on lingering aftertaste fb page. let me know once u see it.
        Thanks for the wonderful recipe .

        Like

      2. Oh good! Phew.. glad to know that there was nothing wrong with the icing.And I disagree..the rosettes you made with the ganache is clear sign of skilled hands. They look real pretty…I haven’t learnt to do that yet. You should be proud hon!
        And wow, loved your family’s reaction to your cake. You have obviously nailed it! Really happy you baked this cake. Thank you!

        Like

  4. HI Ambica…can i just leave out the eggs or do i need to substitute with anything else. Usually buttermilk or yoghurt is what I replace eggs with. Would only buttermilk (already mentioned in receipt) would suffice?. Thanks in advance

    Like

    1. Hi Sushma… I think you leave out eggs and the recipe should still work very well. Yes, only buttermilk will do.(I don’t bake eggless , I’m sorry) Alternatively, these days people use Flax seed paste ( 1tbsn flax seed powder + 2 1/2 tsp water = 1 egg) You can try that…you may want to google it once before you use it in your bakes ( that is if you already do not know about it) ..Do let me know how it turns out hon! 🙂

      Like

  5. hello ambica 😀
    your blog is like a crime area i say!!! all things sinful!!! i’m drooling over each recipe (shameless confession!) just a query, it says add hot coffee into the batter, any science happening there? should i add hot coffee into the wet ingredients?? a tad bit confused there fearing that it would change the texture of the batter.. i generally use the moist chocolate cake recipe from “woodlandbakeryblog” and it has always work for me, but ever since i saw your recipe my hands are itching that i try it right away, could you please throw some light on my doubt..:)

    TIA!!!

    Like

    1. Hi Harshita! Guilty as charged ❤ Thank you so much for sharing your love for the posts.
      As for the recipe query – Honestly, I don't know what the science is behind the hot coffee into the batter (*Feeling silly*! ) but I do know that it works …just works! For this cake, I always add hot coffee to the batter and not to the wet ingredients. This yields a moist cake, always. If you follow this recipe, you'll also notice that the batter will be a little too runny…. but don't fret, the cake will turn just fine 😛
      Go right ahead .. give it a shot! Let me know how it turns out. I know I haven't been able to answer you query…I'm sorry. I will check with some prof. baker friends and get back to you. Have a great day!

      Like

      1. hey ambica 😀
        thank u for the speedy reply! infact your experience and explanation is good enough to clear my doubt.. i ll be doing this recipe now as cupcakes, and to make it a little more whacky i ll be filling it with some tangy lemon curd in between 😛 and frost it with ganache!! will definitely share pictures on your fb page 😀 thanks a ton for sharing your recipe 😀 keep ’em coming!!! its a treat to watch!!! and as a request can you try out some recipes where filo pastry sheets are used.. would love to know how you work with it, as they are extremely sensitive in texture.. though i make yummy baklavas, would want to know some other recipes where these filos are used..

        thanks again!! 😀

        Like

      2. Wowie! Wicked cupcakes with a lemony surprise …I love the sound of that! Looking forward to seeing them (although would love to say ‘tasting’ instead). Yes, I’m really happy that you’ve asked me to try something out… Been trying to dare some filo pastry recipes for a while now… have a recipes in my head. Guess I will now…soon. And will dedicate my first filo pastry based recipe to you Harshita. Share your FB profile/ID if you don’t mind..so I can tag you when It is ready. Thank you so much and have a great day darling! 🙂

        Like

      3. eeeeeeeee!!!! thank u so much ambica 😀 would luv to see that recipe and also try it!! my fb profile ID is (HARSHITHA SRINIVAS), btw have made your chocolate cake twice this week, and the best part is that they just vanish once they are frosted 😛 lol.. next time im gona bake it in secret and gobble most of it 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi, I would love to try this recipe, but I have no idea where you get good cooking dark chocolate that has minimal/no added sugar. What brand do you use and where do you get it from? Also your recipe calls for Dark Cocoa Powder, again, what brand do you use and where can I get it? Thanks! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Good dark cooking chocolate & dark cocoa would typically be available in any store that sells baking supplies. You can alternatively use any regular chocolate bar with higher cocoa percentage ( anything more than 65% will do) . I used the Hershey’s unsweetened cocoa powder. You can even look at buying it from supermarkets or even online. I’m not sure if you’ve in Bangalore – would have directed you to the exact store. Thanks for trying this recipe. Do share your experience after! 🙂

      Like

      1. Hey, very much in Bangalore, found out about your blog via BFC when I saw those to die for photos 😛
        Do let me know which store I can find this at! And thanks a million 😀

        Like

      2. Morning! Found me through BFC..nice 🙂 May I know your name please? Thank you so much for showing such love for the photos. It is very encouraging! As for the cocoa – I picked it up from MK Retail Indiranagar. I also saw it in Fatima’s. You’ll also find it in Tomms, Baking Institute, Foodhall, GNB. Online – Towness, Big Basket. 🙂

        Like

  7. Hi that looks like one killer recipe and I want to try it right away…but please tell me I have a small oven and I cannot place 2 pans at a time…I will have to bake it in my batches..my question is is it ok to let the batter stand on counter for so long that is 40 mins? Please do reply..thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Divya! Thank you trying out the recipe. Cover the batter and let it sit in cool place for 40 odd mins ( NOT in the fridge)…no problem at all. In fact I’ve baked it twice in a small oven at my parent’s place… it gave me the same result. Go right ahead! 🙂

      Like

  8. Sinful much? 😀 that looks out of this world Ambica! My birthday is next month, and since the chocolate-orange combination is my all time fav, I might make myself this exact one! I love your photographs… Your latest ones of the ‘tea tasting’ in Bangalore has me in my ‘I miss Bangalore’ mode (and slightly jealous that you get to enjoy it’s amazing weather) Lol

    P.S: I was going through the comments above and noticed that you mentioned one ‘flax egg’ as 1 tbsp in 2 and 1/2 tsp water? I use it all the time, and as per the instructions on the flaxseed meal pack and on the internet, it is 1 tablespoon flaxseed meal in 3 tablespoon water. Letting you know, just in case 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Ranjana for your comment! First of all, I need to apologize for a delayed response.

      Really thrilled you loved the cake post and that you wish to bake it for your birthday.. wow! How cool is it to bake your own birthday cake? hahah … Happy to know that it your fav flavour combinations…one of my favs. too! Do share how it turns out. btw, when is your birthday? Advance birthday wishes and god bless!

      Glad you enjoyed the tea tasting post too. That was a beautiful day and wanted to capture the essence of the day- the beautiful weather, the romantic mood, the fragrant teas etc. The weather is indeed one of the highlights of the city ❤ …Guessing you've lived in bangalore at some point in your life before you moved to Virginia. How long ago was it? and where? do you visit it now?

      As for the Flax seed powder ratio… I stand corrected, thank you! Really appreciate you pointing that out. It was shared by a baker friend of mine. I don't do eggless baking… I couldn't have figured it out myself. Thanks, I'll let her know too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

